From plain old Jin to JinnyBoyTV: A local, Malaysian boy goes big (Part 1)

 

Hello again ! 🙂

30 degrees of nothing but sunshine today in Melbourne! I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. (Well, that’s because I don’t know whether to be thankful or to complain about it)

Today’s post is a bit special because it’s my 9th post in my blog! It seemed just yesterday I was frantically rummaging through the website hoping to find the perfect article to feature on my first ever blog. (For most of you who didn’t know,  Manchester United was my 1st article here. Do check it out!)

I said special because this time, I’m breaking up the post in 2 sections: Part 1 & Part 2. Both these parts are interlinked so make sure you read both parts! (You won’t regret, I promise!)

Unlike all the articles I’ve posted before, Part 1 doesn’t have  any videos in it but fret not, in Part 2 there are tons!

Here, I’m going to feature Malaysia’s very own Youtube star, Jin Lim who rose to fame by making short films on his own Youtube channel called JinnyBoyTV. How did he do it & what can we learn from him? Let’s find out!

-> Born and raised in Malaysia, Jin Lim is just like any other ordinary boy. Like me, he was a Malaysian student who go to school, do homework, eat, sleep – repeat. At least that’s what he was 2 years ago.

 

JinLim_JinnyBoyTV

This radio DJ and Youtube filmmaker never even give fame a thought before. He never expected to become a household name in Malaysia. What is his secret? What did he do that is different from all the other boy his age that resulted him to rise to fame?

“Do you want to be famous or not?” That’s where it all began. That one question changes his life.

Before he became renowned for his short films that he now posted up on his Youtube channel – which happened to have 470, 203 subscribers as of now (and still counting) as well as a whopping 54 million views (Proud of you, Jin!) – Jin lived just like any other Malaysian.

 

tv

 

(JinnyBoy’s Youtube channel logo)

 

The 29 years old lad grew up in Subang, a suburb close to the bustling city of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. In 2006, he enrolled himself in Curtin University in Perth, Australia majoring in marketing and advertising.

Actually, I wanted to be a pilot when I was young,” Jin reveals

“But I wear glasses, so I gave up on that.”

 

On JinnyBoyTV

 Jin soon set up a Youtube channel under the nickname “JinnyBoyTV”. Initially, that channel was meant for him to post videos of his radio interviews so non-radio listeners (believe me, they still exist) would have the chance to watch them.

 

“ I thought to myself that at least, when I grow old, I can tell myself that I’ve made a film before. I don’t care how many hit it makes.”

His first short film, Ah Wing – Malaysia’s No.1 Salesman surpassed any of his expectations. It racked up 103,000 views in just 4 days; the channel was gaining subscribers and Jin’s email box was overflowing with people saying how they loved the film.

Since then, he didn’t stop. JinnyBoy’s latest short film, ABUDEN hit 1 million views under 3 days, after going viral on Facebook.

 

“We never expected any of these videos to have such a huge response.”

 

The most recent success (and by far the biggest) was when one of his video got 9GAG’s attention. 9GAG who is famous for posting anything hilarious decided to screen-shot one of the scenes in JinnyBoyTV’s video and posted it on their Instagram account.

 

Here’s the picture as seen in 9GAG’s Instagram:

10710805_631757466940744_9162770772593219720_n

Note: (9GAG is an American based company that operates an online platform and social media websites whereby users upload and share user-generated images, videos and GIFs.)

 

On Going forward

So what does the future holds for Jin?

Jin mentioned in his recent interview that online media has the potential of overtaking mainstream press such as newspapers, TV and radio.

Jin offers advice for students wanting to craft a career in new media:

 

“ Don’t try to make it big in the industry, just do what you love.”

 

1409038803_D5706E3F8218F73D4C9B6D8FDA3EC7

Jin & his partner, Reuben Kang.

 

And he’s doing just that, keeping himself busy with his many projects.

“The reason why we are so passionate about what we do is because we want to show the world that Malaysia has a voice.”

So there you go folks!  For those with a marketing major (like me), this is one valuable lesson that we can learn. Do what you love, and the rest will fall into place.

All I can say is, being a fellow Malaysian – I’m proud of Jin! Bravo.

Stay tune for Part 2!  🙂

3 thoughts on “From plain old Jin to JinnyBoyTV: A local, Malaysian boy goes big (Part 1)

  1. I actually got to (sort of) meet him at the Malaysian ball. He premiered his latest short film and he talked to us about how much of an impact it has for him to physically witness people enjoying it. I feel like social media platforms really do give talented people a huge chance in gaining the exposure they deserve instead of going through a second channel or person who would most likely be bery subjective and commission driven. Just like how ASAP Rocky told vice, it’s incredible how many talented people there is out there, the internet and social media realyl have help them make it you know. Justin Bieber is one of them, so are some of the bloggers who manage to make a living out of their interests or purely their personality.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello redxbean. Thank you for your comment 🙂

    Yes, I’ve heard from my fellow peers that the Malaysian Ball went well & that JinnyBoy himself was the celebrity guest! HOw lucky of you to have met him!

    I agree with your statement when you said that social media provides massive platform for talented people to showcase their talent, ergo more exposure of what they have to offer.

    However, in my opinion, not many people are as lucky as Justin Bieber or in this case, JinnyBoy. Take Rebecca Black, for one. How her video went viral but for all the wrong reasons.

    What I think is significant in this aspect is that the public doesn’t want just talent anymore. They wan uniqueness. They want something remarkable. Nowadays, the world has seen enough talent. There’s an abundant amount of that. What talented people who wish to go big needs to do is be special. Be one-of-a-kind, just like our very own JinnyBoy 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment